The Jeans Issue.

Hello, Hello!

It’s lunchtime on campus. I’ve got a two hour window to eat, do homework and prepare for my last two classes, so thought I would blog while I’m at it!

As I have said before, I am training for my first half marathon in November. Running for me doesn’t come easily, but through the weeks, I’ve gotten down the rhythm of how my pace flows with each mile, how long it takes for me to warm up etc.…But, there has been one thing weighing on my mind.

Why aren’t my jeans fitting????

thunder thighs!

Ever since I started running, I thought it would be a great way to get fit, maybe even lose weight. I weight train regularly and do my cardio sessions, so I figured all this extra cardio and training would equate to shedding a few pounds.

This week it has been especially frustrating for me to pull skinny jeans on. They are fitting much tighter in my thighs and calves than usual and to be honest its been frustrating. Now, I know this probably is muscle, but I can’t help but think, Am I overeating? Have I tricked myself into thinking I can eat more?

I know Tina from Carrots and Cake wrote about her weight gain during marathon training, so I don’t feel completely alone in this. Like Tina, I am deciding to really watch my eats for the remainder of my training just to keep myself in check. On long run days, I will bump up the calories, but other than that, I feel like I need to focus on eating clean, quality meals and snacks with a good ratio or carbs, fats and proteins.

I am proud of my muscles and I am so glad that I have been given the ability to become a runner! I am so ready to cross that finish line feeling strong. Sometimes it’s just hard to figure out how and why things are changing as my body adapts to run longer distances.

Have you experienced weight gain during training for a race?

Do you have any tips that would help me to stay on track with eating while keeping fueled properly?

2 Comments

Filed under running

2 responses to “The Jeans Issue.

  1. Hi There! I’m struggling with the same problem! I’m training for my second half marathon on 10/1. I too, can no shed the weight! It’s incredibly frustrating. I read that a lot of runners do Over eat because they think they can. I’ve been calorie counting, and until I started training I lost 7 pounds, but almost all of it came back since training. I don’t have an answer for you, but I can relate! It’s pretty frustrating!

    • I know! It has been hard for me, because I equated running with weight loss. I probably have been eating too many sweets here and there over the past few weeks, so I’m going to try and really watch it from now on. I’m going to track calories on 411fit.com. At least I know I am not alone! Hopefully once, this is over, the “thunder thighs” will shed some circumfrence!

Leave a Reply

