Post-Surgery Gingersnaps

Well, the shoulder surgery was a success. For those of you who haven’t heard, on Thursday I had arthroscopic outpatient surgery on my right shoulder. I dislocated it about 4 years ago when I was in high school and ever since, it has repeatedly dislocated at random. Pretty painful!
I have been resting for days, icing my shoulder and taking pain meds…not too bad so far!
I’m already bored and tired of sitting around but after I finish my research paper tomorrow, I plan on taking full advantage of being lazy!
Post surgery Me!
My mom ( well, mostly me) had a hankering for some Christmas baking, so we decided to make my great-grandmothers gingersnaps! These cookies were delicious! Crisp on the outside, and chewy in the middle. I think gingersnaps may be my favorite holiday cookie, I love the spicy flavor!
Big Gramma’s Gingersnaps
3/4 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1/4 cup molasses
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 T ground ginder
1 t ground cinnamon
2 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
1/2 sugar for rolling the cookies
1. Oven at 350 degrees
2. Cream butter and sugar until fluffy
3. Add egg, molasses
4. Combine dry ingredients and slowly incorporate into wet
5. roll the dough into balls and then roll them in the sugar
6. Bake on a sheet pan for 10 minutes. Cool and enjoy.
Leave a comment

Filed under baking, gingersnaps, surgery

Leave a Reply

