Fallen

It is true. I have officially lost it. Fallen on the face of God’s green Earth into the abyss of projects, papers, cold weather, lack of sleep, coffee jitters, colder weather, lack of sleep, lack of showers, 12 page papers…..finals.
My life lately hasn’t been exactly great. Finals are like the deatheaters in Harry Potter that suck my soul away. I am nervous, anxious, lazy, sleepy, annoyed.
But, not to worry my friends, the sun will indeed come out tomorrow in which all of this will end.
I am determined to finish this paper, turn it in Thursday morning.
BUT the real kicker lies in what comes after finals….my shoulder surgery. Ah, yes, you thought I was going to celebrate with going out for drinks or eating a nice meal. Nope! Absolutely not. I am going to celebrate with pain killers and sleep for ages, then I will let you know how my life is going.
In the meantime, day in and day out, I have become appreciative of the little things.
Delicious, roasted banana protein pancakes
Creamy nutmeg candles that make my room smell delicious.
Creamy oats with chia seeds that keep me full and focused
(much needed during finals week)
tortilla soup to warm my soul on late nights
I’ll give you the recipe…so easy

Taming Finals with Tortilla Soup
my own recipe creation

1 roasted chicken from publix or your local store, shred all meat and throw away carcass
1 can of fire roasted tomatoes, the diced kind
1 32 oz box of low sodium chicken stock
1/2 c. brown rice, instant kind
1 anaheim chile, seeded and diced
1 small onion, diced
lime, hot sauce, cheese, tortilla chips (for garnish)
1. saute onion and chile with a little salt, pepper and garlic powder in a bit of olive oil
2. throw in the can of tomatoes, saute for about a minute or two
3. add in the chicken stock, bring to a boil and then turn it down to low.
4. add in the shredded chicken
5. pour in half cup of rice
6. simmer on low for about 30 minutes
7. garnish with a squirt of lime, hot sauce, cheese and chips.
This makes a large pot of soup. Perfect reheated.
I am afraid that I am much too lethargic to write anymore.
Perhaps you will see me tomorrow.
Or at least before my shoulder surgery….details to come!
1 Comment

Filed under oatmeal, protein pancakes, tortilla soup

One response to “Fallen

  1. I love this blog -great ideas and food!

Leave a Reply

