A Foodie First

Today was a glorious day.
The weather was PERFECT.
Not a cloud in the sky.
I enjoyed a small “lunch” outside on campus after my class
Cliff bar, grapes, iced coffee.
I didn’t have time to pack a true lunch today.
This whole time change thing has gotten me all messed up.
Warm, cozy bed. Yes. Annoying cell phone alarm . No.
Must. Drink. Hot. Coffee
When I got home from la escula, I decided to enter the unknown…
Now, what I am about to say might offend some of my meat-loving, deer hunting family members….Ready?
I made TOFU. (horrifying scream)
Yes, I did. I made it. And guess what?
It was pretty tasty!
After pressing the tofu for about 15 minutes to drain the excess liquid, I marinated it in the fridge for about 30 minutes. I learned that the key to tofu is the marinade. A highly adaptable ingredient, tofu will be whatever you like it to be, spicy…sweet…savory. However you like em!
I used this recipe to make

Baked Tofu with Roasted Vegetables

1 block extra firm tofu, pressed
4 T. low sodium soy sauce
2 T canola oil
Red pepper flakes
1 green bell pepper
broccoli florets

Preheat oven to 375.
Drain tofu of excess water. Cut into 4 steaks, horizontally.
(make sure you get the most water you can out of the tofu)
Mix soy, canola and red pepper flakes.
Dip tofu in the marinade and let sit for 15 minutes up to 2 hours.
Toss veggies in a bit of olive oil, salt and pepper.

Bake everything in the oven on a sheet pan for 1 hour.
Flip tofu and veggies halfway through.
Tofu should be crispy and brown on the edges.
After dinner, I completed day 2 of The Fitnessista’s “Summer Shape Up”
I know it’s not summer, but it’s still a shape up!
I’ll post the full workout on the fitness page!
Off to shower. I’m sweaty!
Leave a comment

Filed under baked tofu, cliff bar, fitnessista

Leave a Reply

