London Broil with Cherry Balsamic Reduction

This weekend was filled with great food and new adventures. I completed my first 5k race at the Georgia Club where I currently work! Although my time may not have been the best (30:55), I was proud nonetheless (there were a lot of big hills).

I know a ton of “hardcore” runners who could dominate 3.1 miles in no time, but for someone like me, that is a huge step forward. I have never enjoyed running and never really realized why people ran for long periods of time, but I set a goal for myself to run a 5k and now I actually sort of like to run! Hopefully I will continue to set running goals for myself and complete more races in the future.
Sadly, I do not have any pictures from the event because of the torrential downpour that occurred within seconds of me crossing the finish line. Oh well, maybe next time.
I love balsamic and I love cherries. Combining the two= amazing flavor combination.
On Sunday, dinner was simple and classy…london broil with a cherry balsamic sauce. So amazingly easy, sophisticated and figure friendly. I think that this reduction would even be great on pork or chicken. The evening’s vegetables were roasted of course, this time with a citrusy flare.
Potatoes tossed in olive oil, lemon juice, oregano, onion powder, salt and pepper
Roasted at 425 until crispy.
Broccoli tossed with orange juice and zest, salt and pepper and sesame seeds
Roasted at 425 for about 25 minutes.
Grilled London Broil with Cherry Balsamic Reduction

  • Serves 6
  • 1/3 cup dry red wine
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons cherry preserves
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • 1 1/2 pounds London broil, trimmed
  • 2 teaspoons butter

  • Whisk wine, vinegar, cherry preserves, garlic, salt and pepper in a small bowl. Pour the marinade over the meat and turn to coat. Cover and marinate in the refrigerator, turning several times, for at least 20 minutes or up to 8 hours.

  • Remove the meat from the marinade. Pour the marinade into a small saucepan; . Grill the meat. (It may appear that the meat is burning but don’t worry, it will form a pleasant crust.) Transfer the meat to a cutting board; let rest for 5 minutes.

  • While the meat is cooking, bring the marinade to a boil; cook over medium-high heat for 5 to 7 minutes, or until it is reduced to about 1/2 cup. Remove from the heat; add butter and whisk until melted. I added an extra two tablespoons of cherry preserves for an extra kick.

  • Slice the meat thinly against the grain. Add any juices on the cutting board to the sauce.

2 Comments

Filed under balsamic, cherry, london broil, sauce, the georgia club

2 responses to “London Broil with Cherry Balsamic Reduction

  1. what a great sauce for the london broil! I like the idea of oranges with the broccoli, I will have to try it!thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing the 5K!!

  2. Thanks so much. Yeah, the oranges add a nice zesty flavor to the broccoli and I kind of enjoy eating the caramelized fruit slices on the top 🙂

Leave a Reply

