Baked Kale Chips

Meet my new friend Kale.
I have never been a huge fan of leafy greens such as swiss chard, collards, or kale. Maybe it is because I have only eaten them stewed down in salty broth. However, my relationship with kale has changed drastically. We are BFFs, sistas fo life, if you will.
I had heard so much about these kale chips from some of my favorite foodies that I bought a whole bunch at the store last week in order to see what the fuss was all about. Well, the fuss is about how delicious these “chips” are! I’m in love with a new veggie. Baking the kale allows it to crisp up like a chip. Crunchy and flavorful, this kale is fantastic. I am literally eating and typing (with olive oil fingers) as well speak.

Baked Kale Chips (adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

1 bunch of kale ( you know, like a handful or two)
1 tablespoon of olive oil
salt and pepper
sesame seeds
Wash and dry the kale very well (the dryer the better).
Spread on a cookie sheet and drizzle olive oil over followed by a sprinkling of the dry ingredients
Bake at 300 degrees for about 20 minutes until leaves are crisp and dark green.
P.S. As kale gets brown, it becomes bitter so make sure it retains its green color.
2 Comments

Filed under baked, chips, kale, olive oil

2 responses to “Baked Kale Chips

  1. another roasted vegetable that I must try!!thanks so much for the inspiration!

  2. You are so welcome Dennis. I prefer any vegetable roasted! It brings out the flavor more than any other cooking method.

Leave a Reply

