Don’t Rain on My Parade

This morning I was planning on waking up a six in order to prepare for my work “weekend.” My job requires me to work mostly weekends, so I am usually super busy preparing on Fridays. I hit snooze until seven, got up and headed out for groceries…only to find that it was pouring down rain. Not the way I wanted to start my Friday. Not to fear! I went anyway.
I got to Kroger, ran inside and bought a weeks worth of healthy foods. I just love grocery shopping (even in the rain)! Food makes me happy 🙂 Here are 4 simple shopping tips that I generally go by (from WebMd):
1. Shop the perimeter of the store. This is where you will find all of your raw veggies and fruits, whole grains, dairy and fish. All of the foods you should be eating. Beware of those center aisles…
2. Choose “real foods”. Don’t buy heavily processed items. And always remember, eating an orange is waaayyyy better than drinking a large glass of orange juice. Less sugar and more fiber!

3. Eat like an adult, you are not five. Stay away from “kiddy” foods such as cereals, breakfast pastries and frozen dinners. Treat your body like a grown up! As a matter of fact, your child should eat like a grown up too! French fries are NOT vegetables people! Give your kids roasted potatoes and I guarantee you they will be just as happy.

4.Avoid highly processed foods (aka: foods with preservatives, high fructose corn syrup and unknown substances) Typically, if the food has over 5 ingredients and has words that you cannot pronounce…don’t eat it.
Breakfast today was delicious. A whole wheat sandwich thin with Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter from Peanut Butter and Co. topped with banana! This stuff is all natural and tastes like heaven….
Articles of possible interest on a rainy, lazy morning:
Oh, and in honor of this post:
Love it!!
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

